South Carolina School for the Deaf and Blind

Low Vision Options

Accreditations and Awards



State Department of Education


The South Carolina Department of Education’s accreditation program encompasses the following areas of evaluation: the Board of Commissioners, school operations, the elementary schools for the blind and the deaf, the high schools for the blind and the deaf and the school for multihandicapped.



AdvancEd/Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council On Accreditation and School Improvement (SACS CASI)


Accreditation through SACS CASI is a voluntary method of quality assurance developed more than 100 years ago by American universities and secondary schools, and designed primarily to distinguish schools adhering to a set of educational standards. The accreditation process is also known for its ability to effectively drive student performance and continuous improvement in education. Today accreditation examines the whole institution—the programs, the cultural context, the community of stakeholders—to determine how well the parts work together to meet the needs of students.



Conference of Educational Administrators of Schools and Programs for the Deaf (CEASD)


The Conference of Educational Administrators of Schools and Programs for the Deaf (CEASD) serves as the acknowledged expert in the education of individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing, and offers accredited status to qualified schools and programs. The organization provides special expertise in comprehensive school and program administration including areas of policy, curriculum, instruction, administration, staffing and fiscal affairs.



Honors and Awards


Palmetto Gold School.The SC Department of Education first named the SC School for the Deaf and the Blind a Palmetto Gold School in 2002. The award recognizes excellent academic achievement as reflected on the State School Report Card. The SC School for the Deaf and the Blind has received the award every year since 2002 and is one of very few schools in the state to attain this designation for multiple, consecutive years.